Jul 23, 2024  
2023-2024 General Catalog 
2023-2024 General Catalog

Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Colleges


Chairperson:  Phyllis Gray-Ray
Sociology Program Coordinator:  Phyllis Welch
Criminal Justice Program Coordinator:  Ray Von Robertson
Academic Support Services Coordinator:  Carla Adams Lippett
Retention Advisor:  Eugene Matthews
Office Manager:  Wakeelah T. Falden

Professor Emeriti:

Jogindar Dhillon
John Foster
Narayan Persaud
Charles U. Smith


Phyllis Gray-Ray
Keith D. Parker

Associate Professors:

Helen Brethauer-Gay
Felecia Dix-Richardson
Brenda Hughes
Ray Von Robertson

Assistant Professors:

Clifton Brown
Nzinga Metzger
Lee C. Bushong
Milanika Turner
Kenya Washington-Johnson
Phyllis Welch


Kristen Bowen
Roscoe Turnquest


The Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice provides two programs of study leading to bachelor degrees: the Bachelor of Science in Sociology and the Bachelor of Criminal Justice. The Department offers minors in anthropology, sociology, and criminal justice. In collaboration with other units in the College, the Department participates actively in the interdivisional Master’s of Applied Social Sciences program. In all our programs, students’ growth and development are our first priority, and we endeavor to provide a first-rate education for each student. A total of 120 semester credit hours are required for a baccalaureate degree-60 lower level credit hours and 60 upper level credit hours. Students are encouraged to master the skills essential for their chosen profession and to become productive, thoughtful and ethical citizens.


    Bachelor’s DegreeMinor

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Colleges