Jul 23, 2024  
2023-2024 General Catalog 
2023-2024 General Catalog

College of Science and Technology

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Colleges

On July 1, 2012, Florida A&M University’s (FAMU) College of Arts and Sciences formally divided into the College of Science and Technology and the College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities. The primary mission of the College of Science and Technology is to deliver outstanding innovative instruction, conduct high-quality research, and provide impactful service. To accomplish this mission, the college provides opportunities for qualified students (1) to acquire the fundamentals of a liberal education, (2) to acquire a mastery of basic competencies and skills, (3) to obtain excellent preparation for professional and graduate study, and (4) to concentrate in several fields offered in the College of Science and Technology.

The college is organized into five (5) degree-granting departments in the fields of biology, chemistry, computer and information sciences, mathematics and physics. The college offers 15 separate majors leading to the Bachelor of Science degree. It also offers master’s-level programs in biology, chemistry, computer science and physics; and the doctorate in physics.

Students enrolled in the College of Science and Technology have several curricula to choose from that are offered by the college. They may also take courses offered in other colleges and schools of the University, which, with the approval of the department chairperson, may be included in the degree program, used as a minor field of concentration, or used as electives. In order to graduate, undergraduate students are required to maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.0 and a grade of “C” or above in all major and minor courses; graduate students must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0. Some programs may have requirements for graduation that are above the minimum. All directed individual study (DIS) courses must be approved by the supervising professor, the chairperson and the dean. Prior approval by the dean is required for all transient credit.

Admission Requirements

Prospective applicants for admission to the College of Science and Technology are encouraged to review the admission requirements of the University as stated elsewhere in this catalog.

Requirements for Bachelor of Science Degree

  1. Completion of minimum of 120 semester hours, including the following courses:
    1. ENC 1101, 1102 Freshman Communicative Skills (6)
    2. Math (See individual departmental requirements) (6)
    3. Science (see individual departmental requirements) (6)
    4. Humanities (see individual departmental requirements) (6)
    5. Completion of AMH 2091 or any AFA prefix course, (6)
      and one course from the approved social sciences course list
    6. Free or Discipline Electives (4-6)
  2. Completion of major (see departmental requirements).

Requirements for Major

Each candidate for the B.S. degree must complete a major of thirty (30) semester hours (except in areas which specify more) in one of the disciplines in the departments listed below:

  1. Biology
  2. Chemistry
  3. Computer and Information Sciences
  4. Mathematics
  5. Physics

Requirements for Minor

In consultation with his or her advisor, candidates for the B.S. degree may complete a minor area of concentration in which a minimum of eighteen (18) semester hours are earned.

Requirements for a Second Major

A student seeking a second major should consult with the chairperson of the department in which the second major is offered. To earn a degree in a second discipline, all requirements for the discipline must be met. For example, a mathematics major who selects political science as a second major must complete all of the required political science courses, as well as required cognate courses, such as improving writing, speech, principles of economics and others. A separate application for graduation must be approved and submitted by the appropriate department chairperson for each degree sought.

College of Science and Technology Administration

Interim Dean: Dr. Sonya A. F. Stephens
Assistant Dean: Dr. Lewis Johnson
Coordinator, Academic Programs: Ms. Edna Cofield
Administrative Assistant: Mr. Odilon Dulcio




      AstronomyBiochemistryBiological ScienceBiologyPage: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Colleges